The AAO epitomises a 21st century approach to music making. Its musicians are as comfortable improvising as they are reading high-level notation, they can play a burning jazz groove, understand esoteric conceptual work, and are enthusiastic about collaborating across cultures & disciplines. The ensemble revolves around a ten-piece core and draws from a large pool of players depending on project requirements.

Peter Knight, Artistic Director, trumpet/electronics/composition

Erkki Veltheim, violin/composition

Joe Talia, drums/electronics

Vanessa Tomlinson, percussion

Stephen Magnusson, guitar

Sandy Evans OAM, saxophone

Tony Hicks, saxophone/woodwinds

Adrian Sherriff, bass trombone/composition

Gian Slater, voice

Samuel Pankhurst, bass/electronics

Paul Grabowsky Founding Artistic Director, piano/composition

Martin Ng, turntables

Niko Schäuble, drums/composition

Mary Rapp, cello/bass/voice

Simon Barker, drums/composition

Eugene Ball, trumpet

Scott Tinkler, trumpet

Phillip Slater, trumpet

Carl Dewhurst, guitar

Paul Cutlan, clarinet

Lachlan Davidson, saxophone/multi-reeds

Alex Pertout, percussion

Alister Spence, piano

James Greening, trombone

Philip Rex, bass


Nicole Lizee, composer, turntablist

Claire Edwardes, percussionist, Artistic Director Ensemble Offspring

Guru Kaaraikkudi Mani, Sruthi Laya Ensemble (Two Oceans)

Vaidyanathan Suresh: Sruthi Laya Ensemble

Basavaraju Balasai: Sruthi Laya Ensemble

Rajeswari Sainath, dancer (Creative Music Intensive)

Daniel Wilfred: Young Wägilak Group (Crossing Roper Bar)

David Wilfred: Young Wägilak Group

Andrea Keller pianist

Dave Douglas, composer, trumpeter

Sabina Maselli, video artist (Strutting With Some Barbecue)

Samuel Curkpatrick, academic (Crossing Roper Bar)

Ngaiire, voice (Strutting With Some Barbecue)

Scott Morrison, video artist (Water Pushes Sand)


Jeff Wassmann, John O’Donnell, Stuart Campbell, Ian Chaplin, Bob Coassin, Deborah Conway, Gary Costello, Doug de Vries, Tony Gorman, Johnson Hall, Benjamin Wilfred, Peter Harper, Tobias Titz, Elena Kats-Chernin, Michael Kieran Harvey, Tim Hopkins, Ruby Hunter, Nigel Jamieson, Andrea Keller, Paul Kelly, Yusef Komunyakaa, Patrick Nolan, Richard Nunns, Daryl Pratt, Archie Roach, John Rodgers, Josh Roseman, Mark Simmonds, Julien Wilson, Wayan Gde Yudane, Ketut Yuliarsa, Willy Zygier, Elliot Dalgleish, saxophone, Brett Thompson, guitarist, composer, Young Artist in Residence 2013/14, Anthony Pateras, pianist and composer, Ren Walters, visual artist, guitarist, Adam King, drummer.